• Medical Research Institute - Sri Lanka

  • Medical Research Institute - Sri Lanka

Research Committee

MRI Research Committee

This body has a remit to provide a unified approval process for research to promote consistent, proportionate standards for compliance and inspection and facilitate medical research in Sri Lanka by providing funds and also work in partnership with other organizations to ensure the promotion and research governance of health research.

Officials and members of the research committee consists of researchers of MRI and Chaired by Deputy Director General ( Education, Training and Research), Ministry of Health. The members usually meet every first of second Tuesday of the month physically and contribute to the evaluation and approval process once the nominated evaluators sent their comments.  There are a set of external evaluators who help us in evaluation of the proposals in various disciplines.


Chairperson – Dr. Sunil De Alwis -DDG (ET & R) Ministry of Health


Secretary – Dr. Malika Karunarathne – Consultant Immunologist, email: research@mri.gov.lk /gamagemk@gmail.com


Assistant Secretaries – Mr. Saranga Fonseka  / Ms. Thilini de Silva


Assistant – Mr Thilina Madushanka( SKS)



Dr W.L.L.U.C. Kumaratilake/ Director(Actg) , MRI

Dr. Dulmini Kumarasinghe/Consultant Virologist

Dr Renuka Jayathissa/ Consultant Medical Nutritionist

Dr. Gaya Katulanda /Consultant Chemical Pathologist

Dr. Jude Jayamaha/Consultant Virologist

Dr. L. Karunanayake/Consultant Microbiologist

Dr S. Nananayakkara/Consultant Virologist

Dr. Nishali Ekanayaka /Consultant Pathologist

Dr. M.V.S.C. Pathirage/Consultant Microbiologist Food & Water

Dr. Priyanka Herath/Consultant Haematologist

Dr. Primali Jayasekara/ Consultant Mycologist

Dr. Sagarika Samarasinghe/Consultant Parasitologist

Dr. N. R de Silva /Consultant  Immunologist

Dr. Sunethra Gunasena/ Consultant Virologist

Dr Nadeeka Janage/ Consultant Virologist

Dr. H.T. Deepaka Sanath/MO-Health Information

Dr. Mayuri Thammitiyagoda – Veterinary Surgeon

Dr R. Karunakaran

Mrs. Kumudu Kulatunga/Senior Research Officer

Mr.  R.  Ramesh/Research Officer

Ms Devika Perera/Research Officer

Ms W.A.S. Wijendra/Research Officer

Mrs K.G.R. Kuruppuarachchi/Research Officer

Ms T.J.Silva/ MLT

In addition  there is a list of External Evaluators:

Criteria of becoming an External Evaluator

Important websites and documents

  1. Health Research Web
  2. Consolidated Standards of Reporting Trials (CONSORT) statement regarding clinical trials.  The CONSORT Statement and the CONSORT Explanation and Elaboration Document are distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution CC BY 2.0, which permits use, distribution, and reproduction in any medium, provided the original work is properly cited.
  3. MOH instructions on Conducting Clinical Research in Healthcare Institutions.

  Page 1, Page 2

Skip to toolbar