PostHeaderIcon Research Committee

 This page was last updated on 08.03.2018


MRI Research Committee

This body has a remit to provide a unified approval process for research to promote consistent, proportionate standards for compliance and inspection and facilitate medical research in Sri Lanka by providing funds and also work in partnership with other organizations to ensure the promotion and research governance of health research.

Officials and members of the research committee consists of researchers of MRI and Chaired by Deputy Director General ( Education, Training and Research), Ministry of Health. The members usually meet every first of second Tuesday of the month physically and contribute to the evaluation and approval process once the nominated evaluators sent their comments.  There are a set of external evaluators who help us in evaluation of the proposals in various disciplines.

Composition of the committee:

Dr. B.V.S.H. Benaragama-DDG (LS)(Chairperson)

Dr. Sudath Samaraweera-DDG ( ET &R)(Chairperson)

Dr. Malika Karunarathne (Secretary)

Ms. Chathurika Harshani (Asst. Secretary)

Ms. Chalani Jayasinghe (Asst. Secretary)  


1.     Dr. P.U Gamlathge - Director / MRI (Member)

2.     Dr. T.B. Wimalasena -D/Research (ET & R)

3.     Dr.  Rajiva de Silva (Member)

4.     Dr.  Kanthi Nananayakkara (Member)

5.     Dr.  Sagarika Samarasinghe (Member)

6.     Dr.  Champika Rathnayake (Member)

7.     Dr.  Nishali Ekanayaka (Member)

8.     Dr.  Lilani Karananayaka (Member)

9.     Dr.  Sujatha Pathirage (Member)

10.Dr.  Priyanka Herath (Member)

11.Dr. Janaki Abeynayake (Member)

12.Dr.  Primali Jayasekera (Member)

13.Dr.  Jude Jayamaha (Member)

14.Dr. Dulmini Kumarasinghe (Member)

15.Dr. Nadeeka Janage (Member)

16.Dr.  Deepaka Sanath Thubellage (Member)

17.Dr.Thamara Herath

18. Dr Renuka Jayathissa (Member)

19.Dr.  Mayuri Thamitiyagoda (Member)

20.Dr. Ramani Karunakaran (Member)

21.Ms. Kumudu Kulatunga (Member)

22.Ms. Devika Perera (Member)

23.Mr.  R. Ramesh (Member)

24.Ms. Geethani Kuruppuarachchi (Member)

25.Ms. W.A.S.Wijendra (Member)

26.Ms. T.J. Silva (Member)

27.Mr. K.R.Kumaradasa (Member) 


 Research Committee assistant: Thilina Madushanka

In addition  there is a list of External Evaluators: